A tutorial with Dan Peterson 2-2-16

Well it’s here, its passed and i’m glad. Yes, I’m talking about that dissertation!!!

I had my dissertation finished and printed by Wednesday the 28th, however I didn’t hand it in until yesterday, the 1st Feb. But I already feel great. So today I signed myself up for a tutorial with Dan Peterson, and it was fantastic! I don’t think it could have gone better, and to be quite frank, I don’t think I could have handled it if it went badly!

I was nice and prepared for the tutorial, with my main talking point to be focussing on my website I have developed over the past few weeks and the work that I will be showing on there. I made it very clear to him that there is very little work from my first 2 years here that I would actually be happy to put on there. Not because I dislike it (well, some of it) but mostly because my way of working has developed so much in these past months that I wouldn’t want to be working in the same ways that I have been doing in the previous years. This refers to mostly sticking to watercolours and not giving myself the room and freedom to do what I actually wanted to do, which is make things! I wouldn’t want to advertise work on my website that I wouldn’t be willing to reproduce. And Dan was totally on board with all of this.

I found it really refreshing to talk to Dan about the work I am currently making, for two reasons. 1) it was good to start talking about my work again after a long while of writing dissertations and almost neglecting my project work, and 2) it was lovely to speak to Dan about it, who is a different person to Amelia and Martyn (A fresh face), so it installed the excitement back in me. After explaining all about my work and my materials and my intentions, I was asked some important questions (That have been asked before). These included questions about context, place and why? After a while I began explaining idea’s I had for my work, and we began to imagine it in an advert and photographs, experimenting with different locations and places that my work may be found. This was really helping because these are the questions I had been asked before the christmas break and struggled rather hard to answer.

After talking about my work we went back to my website and I noted down some changed Dan suggested I make, and we spoke of ways to photograph my work and what makes a successful photograph. All in all it was a very uplifting day, and it feels good to be back on track.

 

Leave a Reply

