Charity Project, Hello

We were asked to create a visual campaign for a charity of our choice. At first, like always, I found the project quite overwhelming. I think this had something to do with the fact that we were told to make this brief as live as possible, and this is something that I haven’t had too much experience with before, but could be quite exciting!

I had to quickly learn to overcome this fear in order to be able to get on with the project. I began to think about all of the areas of conflict that interest me and the charity’s that support these ideas. Something that has always interested me is mental health issues and the way this affects everyday life, for example schizophrenia, Alzheimer’s, dementia, autism, depression and the effects of drug and alcohol abuse.
For the outcome of this brief we were given 5 options of which we had to choose one format to produce our work. Our options were:
– A moving advert
– A 30 second television/web advert
– A series of 3 posters for a billboard/bus stop advertisement in the street
– A booklet or brochure to be sent out to potential donors
– An innovative campaign of your own creation
One thing I found very important with this project is the importance of the psychology behind advertisement. As illustrators we are communicators, and although it may get looked over and unappreciated we hold a lot of power over emotions when we are given a project like this; The exposure and desensitization of the images that we see explore new lengths that usually go unseen.

– – – HELP FOR HEROES – – –

As the briefing went along my ideas began to develop and change. I started to think about the charity Help for Heroes. I have, for a while now, been keen to have a project where I can focus on the armed forces as it is something very close to my heart. Being able to focus on this and also work alongside a charity is even better, as I am actually being given the chance to use my skills and passion to work towards raising awareness and making a change. To be so passionate about the subject matter is very dear to me as it really helps me along with the project; I find it difficult to work with a project if I find myself not enjoying as much as I should/could be. Anyway, thankfully this time that is not the case.

Soon enough my ideas began to develop. I was hesitant to get in contact with the charity until I found myself with some solid ideas that I could present to them, so I began working on solidifying some ideas. Out of the 5 options I only seemed to like the idea of the Brochure one, as moving image isn’t something I am familiar with, along with posters (large-scale, at that). I knew that I wanted to make something 3D and as interactive as possible. So, with knowing all this, I had to ask myself how I could make something with my Charity in mind.

– – – OUT OF SIGHT, OUT OF MIND – – –

I got to thinking more about Royal Marines: the work they do, the things they see and what the have to endure. Most of these things are quite unknown, it isn’t common knowledge in most people. More importantly, I feel as though the importance of their injuries and the effect these have on the rest of their lives are not thought of or highlighted often enough. Of course it directly affects the soldier, often life changing injuries, but there are also huge effects on families, relationships and so on. It is these aspects that interest me the most. Injuries are not just physical either, a very large amount of soldiers return from deployment suffering mental injuries also. For example, PTSD is one of the most common mental illnesses that soldiers suffer after experiencing war. By focussing on PTSD this means I get to work with mental illness which is something I mentioned earlier that interests me. How can I use this information and channel it into my own work?

– – – THE FIRST AID KIT – – –

Finally I began getting some ideas for what I would like to make, and it comes in the form of a first aid kit. 3D, just the right size to fit through a letter box, full of the things that you would usually find within an aid box, however they are altered in order to raise awareness for my charity.
Like I mentioned before I wanted to make it as interactive as possible, so I began researching the items commonly found in a first aid kit and then decided which ones I wanted in my own. Alongside all of the items I wanted to include some sort of leaflet informing potential donors of an important, overlooked matter (such as PTSD). I narrowed it down and decided to have illustrated plasters, bandages, an informative mini book and an interactive soldier.
Now to start making.

Leave a Reply

