The Company of Trees

DSC_0521

After a lot of thinking I got a little idea together for a piece of work. I was thinking of making a few pieces for this field module and this is the first. Remember the little poem I  put in one of my blog posts? ‘On the Edge of A Wood’. Well I know that I wanted to use that poem in one of my pieces. Everyday on the way to university I cycle along Taff Trail before that brings me out onto one of the busiest and loudest roads I have ever come across! It’s a little bit of heaven before a little bit of hell. Well these trees are similar to that special tree of mine, that old one. In it’s own little world but interrupted by noise and light pollution. Well I wanted to draw more attention to it, and by going off how I felt when I was in ALevel focussing on mother nature, I want help the everyday passer-by take another look at our lovely trees. I have picked this spot because it gets ever so busy full of commuters heading to work or university, so it’s a prime spot for catching someone’s eye.

So what I began to do is start collecting pieces of nature from around these trees and woods, such as leaves, flowers, twigs and so on. Little bits of beauty to highlight within my work. I wasn’t sure how I would be able to bring these little things out, have the focus on them, then I remembered about my paper I had made! I took these little pieces of the forest home and gave them each a little piece of my paper, big enough to house each thing. Then, I printed out the poem and began to stick each line of the poem onto the back of the papers. I was really enjoying where this was going. Although this isn’t how I usually work, it felt really great to be working with so many natural things- my paper was hand-made with paper pulp and crushed up leaves and flowers, then taking pieces of this environment to simply re-arrange it all within itself. Here’s how it all went:

DSC_0471 DSC_0468

DSC_0470 DSC_0477

DSC_0473

 DSC_0480 DSC_0485

DSC_0487 DSC_0488

DSC_0490 DSC_0493

DSC_0494 DSC_0497

DSC_0500 DSC_0502

DSC_0503 DSC_0504

DSC_0505 DSC_0507

DSC_0512 DSC_0516

DSC_0518

I took photo’s of each piece of paper with the poem on the back. They go in order along the tree’s facing directly towards you, this means when you are walking in the opposite direction the papers cannot be seen. This is so it it more likely to capture your attention with it being directly in your eye sight rather than in the middle of the tree where you would have to turn your head in order to see it. I feel this makes it much more intimate too. I wanted to attach them with something a little less violent than nails but I actually like the appearance and think it works rather well. I went to the local hardware shop and they didn’t sell any nails, and I needed to get it done on this day as it is the only bit of sunshine and dry weather we have had in such a long time! Luckily, the lovely men in the shop dug out some picture frame tac’s and they even lent me a hammer. It was great! (This also meant that I saved money on not having to buy these things) When I got to the woods I cycled up and down the path a few times in order to find just which trees I wanted to work with, all 16 of them. These had to be in a line obviously. I also had to decide whether I wanted them when you’re on the way to uni, or on the way back. I chose on the way.

I am happy with this piece. The bits of paper are really tiny, and all focus on beauty. When I had finished putting them all up I decided to take a walk down the path. Also, whilst I was putting them up I had a lot of people interacting with me, asking me questions, and some even followed me along so that they could continue to read the poem on the back of the paper. I feel the contents of the poem are ever so accurate to what I am trying to achieve in this piece. I am hoping that when reading the poem, the questions asked there will make the viewer stop and ask themselves, almost like the trees are telling them the poem, speaking out, as they’ve got something to say.

 So, How do you conduct yourself in the Company of Trees?

Leave a Reply

