Field 1- Language Environments

When it came to going to the field fair to decide what we wanted to choose, I remember sitting with Camilla and chatting with her and being ever so excited about what she had to say. I’ve never really been someone to work with text too much within my illustrations, so this is something new that I could try in order to broaden my horizons. The work that she brought along with her to demonstrate what things may be like were ever so lovely- dainty little boxes with ‘open gently’ on the lid, top open it and find another message saying ‘close softly’. It was this kind of interaction that really caught my eye. All we had to do was wait for the field to begin.

– – The Beginning – –

I arrived to the first session very very excited. I remember Camilla being lovely and I was also looking forward to getting to work with some people from different courses and getting to know more people. We started the session by doing a stand up name exercise. It was good for getting to know everyone but I felt a little like a child in this instance; I began to notice this a lot more and more with Camilla too..

We were asked to venture outside and pick a spot in which you like to begin to draw and bond with. For 25 minutes we had a writing project where we had to automatically write in relation the to element or speak into a dictaphone. I remember when we were all stood in a group outside and Camilla was explaining this, everyone was confused. Si I asked if she could re-explain what she was asking of us, or maybe even give us an example of what she is expecting, and her reply was “If you don’t understand then don’t do it”. Obviously this shocked me and I found it extremely unnecessary and after that I struggled with her. I still didn’t understand what she wanted us to do so I went off and did what I thought.

I began thinking about what makes an environment, and how many different environments there are. Non-literal, literal, un-natural, natural, verbal, and so on. Life, Growth- these are what make an environment. What I found most magical about an environment is how you personally take to it, and how you engage all of your senses.

DSC_0467 DSC_0469

When we outside I found myself sitting in front of a really old tree. It was becoming overgrown with thick, luscious moss and ivy and these two combination’s were wonderful together- new life over the old. Before heading out Camilla gave us some poems to think about, to whisper to ourselves, to say aloud to someone else, to say it in our heads. I also really enjoyed this. When I got home I decided to develop the poem further whilst still thinking about my experience with the tree. Something that stuck out to me  also was the noise pollution of the busy road and the students making their way to university.

– – On The Edge of a Wood – –

On the edge of a wood, what do you see?

Do you smell what you see? On the edge of a wood, are you on your toes?

Do the natural scents crawl up your nose?

A moments hesitation, what makes you stop? Is it the noise and the clutter of the nearby shop?

A moments hesitation on the edge of a wood, I’d ask for silence if only I could.

How will you conduct yourself in the company of trees? Will you fall to your knees, and rummage the leaves?

How will you conduct yourself in the company of trees? Maybe I’ll just sit, and wish they were free.

– – –

This is my adaptation of Thomas A Clark’s, Of Woods and Water.

– – –

I really enjoyed this, I’ve always loved writing since I was ever so young, and it was lovely to attempt to write something again, and it felt quite lifting to be thinking of the experience I had gained with my tree in the woods.

Leave a Reply

