Bringing it all together

Now that all of the workshop days are over it now became time to begin to bring it all together and start thinking about something we would like to make as a final piece for this module. Sitting in the heart space as a group, we had some lengthy chats and also looked at some artists on a slideshow Camilla had put together. I really enjoy group chats and I like to hear about other peoples ideas and contribute to their thinking, as this also helps to get my brain going also. Two of the artists that we looked at are Simon Cutts and Ian Hamilton Finlay, seen below left to right.

simon cutts simon cutts 2

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ian-Hamilton-Finlay-Little-Sparta-The-Present-Order-001-_LowRes

I really like Simon Cutts’ work, he works well with simplicity, colour and negative space, which is something I am drawn too. I am not too keen on Finlay’s work, I find it quite intrusive almost. Maybe it is to do with the size and the amount of text, and maybe the placement of the rocks and so on. Saying that, I do quite like the little pillars/pedestals that he has put beneath/around the bottoms of the trees. This seems to give them a new worth and makes me view them in completely different ways.

Whilst in the heart space, Camilla showed us all a wonderful website:

www.botanicalpaperworks.com

It is really magical! If you don’t manage to get to have a wander around it, then I’ll quickly tell you what’s on there. What caught my eye the most was the Seed Paper:

This special paper is handmade by Botanical PaperWorks using post-consurmer materials and is embedded with wildflower, herb or vegetable seeds. When you plant the paper in a pot of soil or outside in a garden, the seeds in the paper germinate and grow into plants.

Isn’t that great? It began to give me quite a few ideas for my final piece. The thought of seeds being hidden in such delicate paper is enchanting, so much possibility for life here. There are lots of seeds to choose from, including tomato, basil, parsley, carrots and more. Unfortunately, I think they only ship to the US. But I wonder if there is a way I can make my own? Well after some very quick research I realised that I hadn’t used my common sense (at all). I already know how to make paper, and everyone knows how much I love it! All I have to do is choose some seeds of my choice and stir them into the pulp mix when making the paper and then when I bring it out using my mesh screen and frame, follow the steps as normal and leave the paper to set and dry. Then, I will have my own seed paper, and I will be able to plant it.

This certainly has got me thinking..

Leave a Reply

