Head over Heels

c o l o u r

(2)

So, after the inspirational overload from Anna, we were then sent into our own worlds to experiment and explore the colours we brought with us. I worked with watercolors: I chose this medium because I truly adore that wishy-washy, almost confusing and eerie effect that it can create. Ever since being introduced to negative space during my foundation course, its been very difficult to stay away from (the same goes for continuous line drawing and blind drawings) so I thought it would be a nice idea to combine that atmospheric effect from the paints, with the negative space from the white paper.

In preparation for the workshop, Anna asked us to jot down some answers to a few thought-provoking questions. Below are my interpretations of my feelings towards my answers:

DSC_0011 DSC_0012 DSC_0009

A time of day: 8pm. (top left) My mother works at the local hospital as a dialysis nurse, working 13 hour shifts 4 days a week. She gets home around 6:30pm and then begins to cook dinner. It’s not until around 8pm that she finally begins to relax, before she gets into bed at 9pm for the next early start for work at 4am. Through my painting I tried to show her aching and tiredness that she feels, using throbbing reds and dense oranges. Then with the yellow I wanted to show the relief and comfort she feels when her head hits her pillow.

A place that you love: Sutton on Sea. (bottom left) This has always been a place of comfort for me. My Grandma, Iris Foster (although we called her mamma seaside) lived here with her husband Norman Foster (he was practically our granddad, from being there since we were born) lived here in Sutton on Sea, and both died here too. By using washed out mustard yellows and pale blues, I tried to resemble the beach front where we used to walk to together. I then added the blood red colour to show their death, although I added this only slightly as their great achievements and beautiful stories overlook their deaths.

A taste: a cigarette. (middle) I’m not particularly proud of this answer, but seeing as it was the first thing that came into my mind, I thought it better to be honest then to be what I think people should expect. So there it is.

 A Piece of Music: Wonderful Life – Black. (Right, the left one) My father wasn’t the best of dads, but this song takes me back to when he was at his prime. He’d always play it, as loud as he could, as much as he wanted. I feel as though it has been drummed and sewn in to me, and whenever this song comes on it instantly takes me away from the happenings around me, and I become dazed. For me, I think the purples resemble my anxiety, and the blues and greys show the gap where he should be.

A Smell: Old Books. (right write rite) This one was easy for me. There is nothing that I love more than the smell of old and forgotten books. Using mustard yellows, olive greens and empty greys, I wanted to create something that almost looked as though it was decaying and falling away into the soil, however not wanting it to posses a negative vibe.

Anna then sent us away with a little homework: to experiment more on what we had been doing that day, and have one finalized painting. We had two options. (1) Take an extract from Under Milk Wood by Dylan Thomas and create a piece of work using colour to present the feelings you take away from that, or (2) create something have has truly and honestly developed from your own imagination. I chose option two. Below is my finished piece.

DSC_0008

I wasn’t too sure what to do for this final piece, but I knew that I wanted to do something similar to what I had been doing in my experimental pieces. Whilst trying to figure out what I wanted, I found myself sat on my desk with a cigarette in one hand, a paintbrush in the other and my headphones on. I put my music on shuffle so that a mixture on songs would come on, and I just started to paint. Each song made me feel something different, and I just continued painting until I saw fit.

We were then again asked to create a set of 5 final pieces. I took what I learnt from myself with the first final piece, through working from my reflection of my music, and took this technique into my five pieces. Below is what my mind threw at me.

DSC_0015 DSC_0019 DSC_0014 DSC_0016 DSC_0018

Songs (left to right) City and Colour – Waiting… Dean Martin – Memories, William Fitzimmons – Passion Play, Bon Iver – Blood Bank and Carla Bruni – Pas Une Dame.

Leave a Reply

