“Having a favourite Colour is like having a favourite lung”

-Sara Genn

So Anna delivered a wonderful colour workshop with us last Monday and Tuesday. I was in the second group therefore I was scheduled in at 2pm-5pm on both days. Monday was good fun: we started in the small lecture room where Anna had prepared a slideshow for us of some artists and illustrators that work very closely, or in some cases loosely, with colour. I actually really enjoyed the slideshow (although after a while I did get very agitated as my bum fell numb), but it managed to fill me with inspiration, which is what is important.

She highlighted to us how important primary colours are, and the many different ways in which they can be used to create completely different spins on your piece of work. I also learnt a lot about Grey.

grey grey grey, it’s even a grey word to say.

My eyes were opened to how much grey can impact your work- it doesn’t have to be straight-out-of-the-tube black and white mix. With a hint of another colour, for example blue or pink, you create a completely different atmosphere and outcome to your work.

Howard Hodgkin works closely with grey, and before visiting his exhibition at the National Gallery (Cardiff) with the tutors, I hadn’t quite realized just how much grey can affect the finished outcome of a piece of work (note to self: stop under-estimating, okay?) Below are some photos of the pieces that caught my eye the most at the exhibition (I couldn’t find better images off the internet). They grabbed my eye because of his meticulous attention to detail. I really admire the use of the orange against that bluish-grey, combined with subtle (yet not dismissible) line drawings. Using that tone of grey, for me, creates quite a mellow and almost calming effect, however also a little chilly.

IMG_0458 IMG_0454 IMG_0455

Anna also showed us some other Illustrators that consider colour to be very important within their work. I’m very grateful of her doing so, as it opened my eyes more to that side of the world- maybe I do shy away from it, under-estimate myself, but being shown that their isn’t anything to be scared of made me want to dive straight into a new side of me. Below are some illustrators that really stuck out to me during that presentation.

camilla_engman_06 women-and-birds-at-sunrise Luke-Best mjukaoron 01stein600.1

left to right, top to bottom: Camilla Engman, Joan Miro, Luke Best, Camilla Engman and last but not least, Saul Steinberg.

Leave a Reply

