Draws to Words by

All day I’ve had my tongue in a twist.

(again, I’m blogging from past-workshops)

Chris delivered to us a get-stuck-into-it kind of workshop, ‘Words to Draw by’. It was very fun and had that ‘second glance’ effect: looking at something that we take for granted and viewing it in a new light.

Today I learnt to have a conversation with a few words that I wouldn’t usually sit and talk to. Words such as theatrical, Meandering, Lost, Mechanical, Quick, Irrational, Ghostly, Deliberate, Organic, Sticky, Casual.

I enjoyed this project however I didn’t feel as though I could flourish through it. Even so, it did help me to explore into a different dimension of my vocabulary. So, we were given a list of words, and then we were left to ourselves to sit and absorb these words. What do they mean? what do they look like, taste like, sound like, move like? Would you get along with this word? We then were asked to created marks- not sketches or type, marks. Instinctive marks, with a range of different media. I would say this brief allowed me to be more relaxed, not feel the need to ask questions, and just get on with it basically. I like that.

DSC_0004 DSC_0002 DSC_0007

So here are some examples of the work that I produced today. On the right we have 3 words (can you guess?)

Bold: the circles. I wasn’t sure of this one at first. I’m pretty sure most people’s first thought on hearing the word ‘bold’ imagine something distinctive and abrupt- me being one of those people. I began to get to know the word and I began to think of different scenarios something or someone could become bold. I thought of a school play, or any kind of performing artist, and the person that is the lead roll in that event. I tried to depict that through the one solid circle with the empty one shadowed behind it. I used a deep sea green Promarker for this as I don’t get the most positive feeling from the word, and the situation that I put it in. That obnoxious little circle.

Crisp: next to the circles is my idea on the word ‘crisp’. First things that instantly came to mind were actual, edible crisps. Then I began to think of the sound that a ‘crisp’ is- a trampled leaf, a crunch, a smell. What stuck with me the most was the sound of a leaf that has been stood on in the autumn, and the way it panned out in my head was comical, and I imagined a speech bubble popping into the frame saying ‘CRISP!’. I went with it, even though it may be completely bonkers. I wanted to use the flowing shape of a speech bubble but add on a sharp, slim point with a slight curve to also demonstrate the personality of the word.

Underneath those two, we have decorative. I took a more literal approach with this one, going for a sample of vintage wallpaper, that has been stained a little over the years.

Fluid: in the middle is my interpretation of the word ‘fluid’. A lot went through my mind, mainly connotations of the body. My mum works on the dialysis unit in our local hospital back home, so the thought of the dialysis process in which blood is cleaned through pipes, popped into my head. Also, a woman’s water breaking, the process of swallowing water and blood rushing around the body came to mind too. I decided to follow my initial reaction, and illustrate the idea of a fluid traveling through a pipe; however there isn’t a clear start-point of the fluid therefore making it difficult to determine what kind of fluid it actually is, and there is and indefinite end.

Last but not least we have blotchy. I approached this word with the idea of introducing layers. I reached straight for the Blu-tac and began to blotch it about the page. I then crumpled up some paper and stuck that down too. Then I began to think some more.

Blotchy.

B L O T C H Y

blOtchy

Its quite an ignorant word, isn’t it? When you’re blotchy, its just a waiting game for it to leave. A rash, a burn, a scar, a blood clot. Its a permanent word, it wont leave you smoothly. So I decided to use bright in-your-face colours, and I used a paintbrush to fan out the colour towards the ends to mimic a rash.

“Colour is your mark” – Chris Glynn

Leave a Reply

